Back

Meeting Minds Global

12th -17th April 2021

Meeting Minds Global 12th -17th April 2021

Programme – Meeting Minds Global 2021

MM Global 2021 Register here

Register for all Somerville events on 17th April here:

Somerville Programme Saturday 17th April:

  • Alumni in Asia: Meet the Principal – College update and Q&A with Baroness Royall

Session time: 10am BST (5pm HKT)

  • Alumni in Europe: Meet the Principal – College update and Q&A with Baroness Royall

Session time: 1pm BST (2pm CET)

  • Alumni in North America: Meet the Principal – College update and Q&A with Baroness Royall

Session time: 4pm BST (11am EDT, 8am PST)

 

  • Two Distant Strangers: A Conversation about Race & Film featuring the creative team behind this Oscar-nominated short feature: Martin Desmond Roe (1997, Lit, Hum) and Travon Free. The event will be moderated by Ella Road (2010, English Language and Literature).  Two Distant Strangers will be streaming on Netflix from 9th April. 

Martin Desmond Roe is the founder and creative director of Dirty Robber, an Oscar-nominated, Emmy and Gold Lion-winning production house. Two Distant Strangers is his second Oscar nomination for Best Live Action Short, following 2012’s Buzkashi Boys.

Travon Free is an American comedian and actor and writer, with credits including The Daily Show on Comedy Central, for which he won an Emmy, and Any Given Wednesday with Bill Simmons on HBO.

Ella Road is a writer and actor from London whose first play, The Phlebotomist, was nominated for an Olivier Award for Outstanding Achievement in Affiliate theatre.

Session time: 5.30pm BST (6.30pm CET, 12.30pm EDT, 9.30am PST, 12.30am HKT + 1 day)

 

Somervillians featuring in main programme:

Professor of Genetics and Honorary Fellow Professor Dame Kay Davies (1969, Chemistry)  joins the panel on:

Repairing your cells from the inside out: The potential of regenerative medicine

Session time: Tuesday 13th April 11am BST (6am EDT, 6pm HKT)

 

Award winning writer for film, television and stage, Lucinda Coxon (1981, English) in conversation with Sir Nicholas Hytner and Sir Simon Russell Beale:

Tradition and Innovation: the classics, new writing, a new theatre?

Session time: Saturday 17th April 7pm BST (2pm EDT, 2am HKT +1 day)

 

 

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close