The Somerville Association represents a considerable body of experience and expertise, which is shared on an informal, voluntary basis through its networks with members, undergraduates, postgraduates and as a means of supporting and promoting the College.

The Somerville Association is managed by an elected President and Committee comprised of Association members (all are eligible to stand for office) and Fellows appointed by the College. The association is administrated by its joint secretaries, who are employed by the college exclusively to support the alumni community.


Baroness Alison Wolf (1967, PPE)

Joint Secretaries

Mrs Liz Cooke (1964, History) and Ms Lisa Gygax (1987, PPE)

Committee Members

  • Dr Frances Walsh (1956, History)
  • Virginia Ross (1966, Social Studies)
  • Hilary Manning (1977, History)
  • Pia Pasternack (1982, Philosophy and Mod. Languages)
  • Jo Magan (1984, PPE)
  • Tim Aldrich (1994, History)
  • Zoe Sprigings (2004, History)
  • Isabel Ireland (2013, English) 
  • Joe Smith (2013, Mod. Languages)


  • Dr Benjamin Thompson, Fellow & Tutor in Medieval History
  • Professor Fiona Stafford, Fellow & Tutor in English
  • Dr Luke Pitcher, Fellow and Tutor in Classics