SOMERVILLE COLLEGE

OXFORD

The Annual General Meeting of the Somerville Association was held on Saturday 16th March 2024 at 2.15pm in the Flora Anderson Hall, Somerville College.

The President, Nermeen Varawalla (NV), welcomed everyone to the AGM briefly, to allow plenty of time for our guest speaker, Professor Dame Angela McLean (1979, Maths).

MINUTES

- 1. Minutes of the meeting held on 18th March 2023.
- 2. Matters arising from the minutes.

NV thanked outgoing committee members for their support over the last 6 years. These were Tim Aldrich, Jo Magan and Pia Pasternack.

3. Election of new Committee members to serve for a period of three years, proposed and seconded by members at the AGM:

Judy Moir (1974, Law)

Clare Latham (1985, PPE)

David Blagbrough (2011, PPE)

Chris Broughton (2014, Mod. Langs.)

4. President's business:

NV gave a short reflection on the past year and congratulations to Somervillians recognised in the King's first birthday honours and the New Year Honours lists.

Birthday Honours:

- Emeritus Professor Caroline Series (1969, DPhil Maths), received a CBE for her service to Mathematics
- Carolyn Regan (1975, Modern Languages) is the Chief Executive of West London NHS Trust, and has been awarded a CBE in recognition of her exceptional contribution to public service
- Dr Natalie Shenker (Physiological Sciences, 1997), MBE for her service to charity and to human milk banking.
- Professor Robyn Owens AM (1975, Mathematics), was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for her significant service to science in the fields of computer vision and mathematics
- Professor Deborah Bateson (1977, Physiology) was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to medicine through research and education, and to reproductive health

New Year Honours:

- Professor Ann Prentice (1970, Chemistry) was awarded a CBE for Services to British and Global Public Health Nutrition.
- Professor Julia Yeomans (1973, Physics) received an OBE for her services to Physics
- Jane Toogood (1983, Chemistry) was awarded an OBE in the New Year's Honours for services to the low Carbon Hydrogen Sector
- Theresa Wise (1983, Lit Hum) receives an MBE for services to Broadcasting

NV then mentioned that this year's All Alumni Dinner, on 21 September, would be a celebration of 30 years of co-education at Somerville. She also reminded the SA of our debt to Liz Cooke, and of her memorial on 27 April.

5. The Principal, Baroness Jan Royall, then addressed the meeting, announcing the funding of a History Fellowship in Liz Cooke's name.