José María Figueres (Co-chair)

José María Figueres was President of Costa Rica from 1994 to 1998, under a one-term constitutional mandate.

Read more

Trevor Manuel (Co-chair)

Trevor Manuel was one of South Africa’s longest serving Ministers of Finance, and was former Minister in the Presidency and head of the National Planning Commission.

Read more

David Miliband (Co-chair)

David Miliband is President and CEO of the International Rescue Committee (IRC) and a former UK Foreign Secretary. Founded by Albert Einstein, the IRC is a charity that works in more than 40 countries helping refugees and victims of conflict and disaster.

Read more

Carol Browner

Carol Browner is a former head of the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Currently she is Senior Counselor at Albright Stonebridge Group, a global strategy company, and a Distinguished Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, a Washington DC-based think-tank.

Read more

Victor Chu

Victor Chu is Chairman of First Eastern Investment Group, a leading Hong Kong-based direct investment firm and a pioneer of private equity investments in China.

Read more

Obiageli ‘Oby’ Ezekwesili

Obiageli ‘Oby’ Ezekwesili is a former Vice President of the World Bank for Africa, a former Nigerian Education Minister and co-founder of Transparency International.

Read more

Luiz Furlan

Luiz Furlan was Co-chairman of the board from 2009 to 2011 of BRF Brasil Foods, the second largest food company in Brazil and the 10th largest globally, and since then has been a member of the board.

Read more

Vladimir Golitsyn

Judge Golitsyn is President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea on 1 October 2014 for a three-year term.

Read More

Robert Hill

Robert Hill was a member of the Australian Senate from 1981 to 2006, representing South Australia.

Between 1996 and 2001 he served as Minister for the Environment and then Minister for Environment and Heritage, before being appointed Minister for Defence, a post that he held until his resignation in 2006. From 1996 to 2006 he was also the government’s Leader in the Senate.

Read more

Yoriko Kawaguchi

Yoriko Kawaguchi is a former Foreign Minister and Environment Minister of Japan, and is now a Visiting Professor at the Meiji Institute for Global Affairs in Tokyo. Ms Kawaguchi served as Minister of the Environment between 2000 and 2002 and as Minister for Foreign Affairs between 2002 and 2004. Subsequently she was appointed as a Special Advisor to the Prime Minister, responsible for foreign affairs, before entering the House of Councillors (the upper house of the Diet) where she chaired the Standing Committee on Environment.

Read more

Pascal Lamy

Pascal Lamy was Director-General of the World Trade Organization (WTO) from September 2005 until September 2013.

Mr Lamy holds degrees from the Paris-based Ecole des Hautes Etudes Commerciales (HEC), from the Institut d’Etudes Politiques (IEP) and from the Ecole Nationale d’Administration (ENA). He began his career in the French civil service at the Inspection Générale des Finances and at the Treasury. He then became an advisor to the Finance Minister Jacques Delors, and subsequently to Prime Minister Pierre Mauroy.

Read more

Paul Martin

The Rt Hon Paul Martin was Prime Minister of Canada from 2003 to 2006 and Minister of Finance from 1993 to 2002. He was named the inaugural chair of the Finance Ministers’ G20 in 1999.

Read more

Sri Mulyani Indrawati

Sri Mulyani Indrawati is Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer of the World Bank Group and a former Finance Minister of Indonesia. Following an early career in academia and development, Sri Mulyani was appointed as an Executive Director of the International Monetary Fund in 2002, representing 12 countries in Southeast Asia. Two years later she became State Minister for National Development Planning and Chair of the National Development Planning Agency.

Read more

Cristina Narbona

Cristina Narbona is a former Environment Minister of Spain. At the beginning of 2013, she left her seat in the National Congress of Deputies (the lower house of parliament) to become Counselor of the Nuclear Safety Council of Spain.

Read more

Ratan Tata

Ratan Tata stepped down as chairman of the Tata Group in December 2012 after 21 years at the helm. The group is one of India’s biggest business conglomerates, with numerous interests including steel, cars, renewable energy, tea and hotels, and a major philanthropic donor.

Read more

Foua Toloa

Aliki Faipule Foua Toloa, who passed away in June 2015, joined the Global Ocean Commission in December 2012. His role on the Commission reflected his role in life as a true Ocean soul and advocate for change and action.

Read more

Andrés Velasco

Andrés Velasco was a presidential candidate in Chile in 2012-13. He was also the Minister of Finance of Chile between March 2006 and March 2010. During his tenure he was recognised as Latin American Finance Minister of the Year by several international publications. His work to save Chile´s copper windfall and create a rainy-day fund was highlighted in the Financial Times, the Economist, the Wall Street Journal and Bloomberg, among many others.

Read more

The Commissioners were supported by an International Secretariat consisting of:

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.